Review: Zuma Natural Foods in Mancos, CO

2/23/11

Zuma Natural Foods
121 Railroad Avenue
Mancos, CO 81328

We were headed West on Route 160 when the unique wooden entrance-way to Zuma Natural Foods caught our eye. We missed the access road so we had to turn around. No big deal – it was worth it!

The atmosphere in Zuma was a cross between Wild West Shoppe and organic grocer, with neat wooden carvings, tasteful western artwork and terra cotta colored walls. Even the clientele had a cowboy type appeal. So I was little surprised, but pleasantly so, by the excellent variety of gluten-free foods available here.

Some of the gluten-free foods offered included soups, condiments, energy bars, snack crackers, cookies, baking mixes, pasta, snack chips and more. But that was just in one clearly labeled section. The foods throughout the rest of the store were natural and healthy, and any knowledgeable or veteran gluten-free shopper could spot good finds for their diet all around.

While I was perusing the store, the owner checked to see if I needed any help. She asked if I’d tried the Udi’s gluten-free bagels, which I hadn’t, so she insisted on toasting one up for me at her breakfast/coffee bar. Well then, I guess I’ll just have to pour myself a cup of joe, mosey on over here to the café area and set a spell (that’s cowboy-speak in case you’re wondering). The coffee was excellent, and I’m picky.

The owner did, in fact, have a good knowledge of gluten-free foods, and was correct that the Udi’s bagel was top-notch. Not only that, it was filling, too. I had pretty much given up on bagels since being diagnosed wheat intolerant, so this was a great discovery.

I enjoyed my snack then grabbed some gluten-free supplies and a couple of Vitamin C drinks before again heading West. My stop at Zuma in the lovely little town of Mancos will be a fond memory.

About ksbrooks

K.S. Brooks is an award-winning novelist and photographer, author of more than twenty books, and co-administrator of the multi-national, multi-author, award-winning site Indies Unlimited. Brooks’ feature articles, poetry, and photography have appeared in magazines, newspapers, books, and other publications both in the U.S. and abroad. For more about K.S. Brooks, visit www.ksbrooks.com.
This entry was posted in Food, Reviews, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Zuma Natural Foods in Mancos, CO

  1. Thank you very much for the nice review! We are having fun with our “Branding”. We just hired a chef that will be starting on June 1. Her speciality is working with raw foods, so I am very excited. We also added a salad bar that looks like an old wagon. Hope you stop by again if you get back in the area.
    Cynthia

  2. Anne Matoke says:

    Would like to purchase large quantities of your Organic Products. Is it possible to send me a quotation of the prices of the following products:-
    Different Types of Beans, Flour, Spices, Teas, Coffee, Spices, Honey, Sea Salt, Dried Fruits and Tree Nuts, Corn, Popcorns and any other products you have.

    I’ll highly appreciate since I’ll be relocating to Dove Creek and wanna purchase your items in Bulk. Last time I was touring in 2009, as I was driving with my husband, I was so excited to see an Organic Store. We stopped by and bought my favorite Yogi Teas, He bought his nuts and we even took a photo outside your store and then headed off for the journey.
    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  3. ksbrooks says:

    Reblogged this on Gluten-Free Gusto Blog and commented:

    A great place in Colorado to take a break, grab a great cup of coffee, and enjoy some gluten-free fare. Kudos to the owners.

Leave a Reply

