Boldly Going Nowhere

I was sitting at the kitchen table yesterday morning when a new segment started on the Today Show.  I couldn’t see the television, but I knew the voice coming out of it.  “That’s Leonard Nimoy,” I told my spousal-type unit.  I got up to look.  Sure enough, Mr. Nimoy was sitting on the couch looking great for his age.

It didn’t occur to me until after dinner tonight that something might be wrong with me.  How in the world could I recognize Leonard Nimoy’s voice?  That’s pretty weird.  So, I thought about it, and realized it was even worse than that.

If you blindfolded me and put William Shatner, DeForest Kelley, George Takei, and James Doohan before me, I could recognize ALL of their voices, and tell you their real and character names.  Seriously:  what’s wrong with me?

Why do I know their voices so well?  I couldn’t even tell you the last time I saw an original episode – it had to be at least 10 years ago, if not more.  What was it about that show that got so ingrained in my brain?

Was it Captain Kirk flipping his head side to side saying “I’ve…got a plan”?  Or Mr. Spock’s “that’s highly illogical, Captain”?  “I’m givin’ her all she’s got Captain!” yelled into the speaker by Scotty?  Or Bones’ wonderful “Dammit Jim, I’m a doctor, not an actor”?  Why do I even know these quotes?

I’m 45 years old.  That’s not ancient, yet it seems that most everyone I talk to thinks of Next Generation or Voyager when I say Star Trek.  I’ve never even seen those!  The television series I knew was light and colorful and campy.  This new movie looks dark and foreboding – kind of like The X-Files meets Alien.  What happened to the fun, melodramatic, predictable Star Trek?  I guess I must be part of the Last Generation.

About ksbrooks

K.S. Brooks is an award-winning writer and photographer, author of more than thirty titles, and administrator of the multi-national, multi-author, award-winning site Indies Unlimited. Brooks’ feature articles, poetry, and photography have appeared in magazines, newspapers, books, and other publications both in the U.S. and abroad. For more about K.S. Brooks, visit www.ksbrooks.com.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

