Who’d a Thought?

Who’d a thought Robert Goulet was the boogeyman?  I had no idea.  Thank G*d for Superbowl commercials, because I would still not know who moves my papers around when I’ve got those after lunch nappies.  That dude is stealth.  If you haven’t seen the ad, it’s the one for Emerald Almonds, and you can check it out at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPtpo1OuYcs.  You won’t be sorry.

And, who’d a thought some dude writing commercials for Taco Bell would have overheard my best friend trying to teach me to pronounce things in Portuguese?  Those two lions are just hilarious.  “Say it sexy, like Ricardo Montalban.”  Ricardo Montalban?  I still remember him talking up the Corinthian leather in a Chrysler.  Frankly, that was my favorite Superbowl commercial. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cw0eA30h6n4

I’d have to imagine that the productivity of the United States workforce plummeted the week after the Superbowl.  With all the million dollar ads posted on the internet, no one was working – everyone was watching those…so my question is who’d a thought Google’s purchase of YouTube was brilliant?  Those guys are sharp.

And who’d a thought the hotel I almost made reservations at on Wednesday would be reported on the news Thursday as being the second dirtiest hotel in the entire United States?  But even more so, who’d a thought that the hotel I reserved at instead would be number THREE on the dirtiest hotel list?  I mean, what the hell are the odds of that?  When that story came on the news and they showed the hotel web site, I started screaming “Oh my G*d oh my G*d, that’s our hotel!”  David didn’t believe me.  He really thought I was joking.  Hell no I wasn’t!  Luckily, the first dirtiest hotel in the nation is in Virginia Beach, and we are not going there.  LOL

My last question is…when I write these kinds of tongue-in-cheek things, I hear what I’m writing as I type it.  So…Who’d a thought I’d hear this posting in Andy Rooney’s voice?  Don’tcha hate it when that happens? 

Footnote:  Sadly, both Ricardo Montalban and Robert Goulet have passed away since the original writing of this piece in 2007.

K. S. Brooks is an author and photographer.  © 2007

About ksbrooks

K.S. Brooks is an award-winning writer and photographer, author of more than thirty titles, and administrator of the multi-national, multi-author, award-winning site Indies Unlimited. Brooks’ feature articles, poetry, and photography have appeared in magazines, newspapers, books, and other publications both in the U.S. and abroad. For more about K.S. Brooks, visit www.ksbrooks.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

