To Tweet or Not to Tweet…

I was a busy little bee today.  I had a few moments so I updated my blog, my Twitter, my Ning, my Facebook, my MySpace, and my website.  None of that even sounds like English.  In fact, they all sound like code words you might use in front of your kids for private parts or dirty deeds.  “Hey honey, after the kids go to bed, I’ll Twitter your blog if you Ning my MySpace.”  That’s just gross.  Get a room.

All these social networking tools are made to save time and stay in touch with people.  But really, is it more effective than sending your friends an e-mail, a card or a letter?  What about a phone call?  Do they give you the warm fuzzy feeling that opening a piece of real mail does?  There I go, starting to sound like Andy Rooney again. 

On MySpace I’ve been accosted by a man who liked to tell me about how often he masturbated.  On Facebook I dealt with a guy who had joined my high school class using the identity of a celebrity friend of mine.  It was a little confusing, but it turned out this guy wasn’t Michael at all, and was instead a fan of his.  Why do I want to be your friend?  I don’t even know you.  And wtf is the deal with Twitter?  Is anyone really so interesting that you want to know what they are doing every day?  At the insistence of my publicist, I signed up for Twitter.  I have two people I don’t even know following me.  I can’t figure out if one or both of them are spam.  Could someone please Tweet me a daily reminder to update my Twitter?  I’m sure those two people are just hanging on my every action.

Frankly, I e-mail, text or instant message my mother and my real friends daily.  I talk to my spousal-type unit.  Occasionally I’ll call these people or send them a card they can hold in their hands.  All this other stuff is not for me.  I guess I just don’t play well with others.

About ksbrooks

K.S. Brooks is an award-winning writer and photographer, author of more than thirty titles, and administrator of the multi-national, multi-author, award-winning site Indies Unlimited. Brooks’ feature articles, poetry, and photography have appeared in magazines, newspapers, books, and other publications both in the U.S. and abroad. For more about K.S. Brooks, visit www.ksbrooks.com.
This entry was posted in Humor, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

