Readers’ Choice Awards: The Voting Starts Now

Night Undone Cover Art

Nowadays, most book “awards” require an author to submit a book along with a hefty check to some “place” that will evaluate it and hopefully not resell your hard copy somewhere online when they’re done. Needless to say, I don’t do the award thing anymore. I don’t have an $80 entry fee lying around and I’d prefer readers judge my writing in other ways.

So, when a nomination for an award comes along that is based solely on quality – that gets my attention.  That’s what happens, once a year, at BigAl’s review site. If you’re lucky enough to be one of the books reviewed, that’s an honor in and of itself. But to then have a book nominated for an award – well… I’m tickled to death. But…it gets better.

This year, two of my books have been nominated for Readers’ Choice Awards. That is the highest compliment and honestly, I am stunned. So, BAD BOOK has been nominated in the humor category, and Night Undone in thriller.

But…that’s not all. This year, quite a few of my author friends have also been nominated. It’s wonderful to be among such talented people. Makes me feel smart.

Kudos to:

Laurie Boris for Sliding Past Vertical
Lynne Cantwell for Tapped
Nicole Storey for Blind Sight
DV Berkom for Yucatan Dead
and of course Stephen Hise and JD Mader, my co-authors of Bad Book

If I missed anyone, I apologize.

My friend Laurie Boris, who I mention above, has written a blog post featuring some of the nominees as well as instructions and links for voting.

Congratulations to all my fellow nominees and to my friends – I’m proud of you guys and honored to be amongst you! Best of luck to everyone.

http://booksandpals.blogspot.com/2014/03/readers-choice2.html

Here’s Laurie’s post: Readers’ Choice Awards: The Voting Starts Now.

About ksbrooks

K.S. Brooks is an award-winning writer and photographer, author of more than thirty titles, and administrator of the multi-national, multi-author, award-winning site Indies Unlimited. Brooks’ feature articles, poetry, and photography have appeared in magazines, newspapers, books, and other publications both in the U.S. and abroad. For more about K.S. Brooks, visit www.ksbrooks.com.
This entry was posted in Publishing, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Readers’ Choice Awards: The Voting Starts Now

  1. Brenda Perlin says:

    Yes, you got my vote. Thanks for sharing. Lovely.

  2. Aww, thanks for the plug! Good luck! 🙂

  3. dvberkom says:

    You’re the best, woman! Thanks and good luck 😉

Leave a Reply

